Feedburner Receive our consumer tips & recalls newsletter by e-mail
[X]
Feedburner count

52
Helpful
Votes

Coach, Inc. - Coach Factory Online Scam, They Are a Ripoff!!

Coach Pocketbooks
Review by ok4now on 2012-05-01
My wife received a beautiful advertisement from the Coach Factory in the mail. She has previously purchased from them in their Outlet Store and is on the mailing list. The advertisement included a very classy looking product brochure illustrating their new line of pocketbooks. "Introducing Coach Factory Online! Enjoy Savings Up To 70% Off." Register at Coachfactory.com/shop

Did a Google search to bring up their website. It is an exact copy of the legitimate Coach website. Norton identified it as "not authentic and not Norton secured." This rogue website had every product that Coach sells with deep discounts including product numbers. Most of the designer pocketbooks that sell in the $500 dollar range from the real Coach website were on sale for $59 dollars. What they are selling is a total piece of junk, mass produced in China. The zipper doesn't work, the lining inside the purse isn't even glued or tacked down. It smells funny and there is no invoice included so no information about how to return it.

Buyer beware, this is a scam. Don't get ripped off!
Comments:
Posted by Alain on 2012-05-01:
You're right, Ok4now! The fake site is barely different from the real Coach site! Excellent review.
Posted by madconsumer on 2012-05-01:
very helpful review!
Posted by jktshff1 on 2012-05-01:
Thanks for the heads up.
Posted by littleshorty on 2012-05-01:
My friend sent me the link to this site last week. I thought it looked legit so I signed up to order a purse. But, on the credit card page, I noticed that it didn't say "https" on the top and the little paddlelock symbol wasn't there. That raised a red flag that the site wasn't a secure site. I am glad I didn't buy the purse. Thanks for the review.
Posted by lexophiliac on 2012-05-01:
"Most of the designer pocketbooks that sell in the $500 dollar range from the real Coach website were on sale for $59 dollars."

Signs, signs, everywhere are signs.
Posted by clutzycook on 2012-05-01:
Nice catch, LS. I don't think many people would be that observant.
Posted by Nohandle on 2012-05-01:
Anyone ever have an individual drive up to his business offering *designer purses* out of the trunk of the vehicle? Or someone driving a semi stating it was a COD order and the furniture store couldn't provide payment so he was instructed to sell the furniture the best way he could?

Those days are all but gone. Crooks have found it much easier to play their games on the internet. Good warning and excellent responses.
Posted by littleshorty on 2012-05-01:
Clutzy, I've learned the hard way to check if a site is secure BEFORE entering credit card info.
Posted by MRM on 2012-05-01:
Whenever I buy anything online, I use a pseudo credit card number so that the number can be used one time.
Posted by Wally86 on 2012-05-01:
I only purchase stuff of the internet if the site uses paypal. Because you don't need to give out your credit card info and paypal has its own secure transaction system.

So if something happens those crooks won't have your credit card number and you can just dispute it with paypal and if they get enough complaints paypal gets rid of their account pretty fast.
Posted by trmn8r on 2012-05-01:
I always use my actual credit card number online. Call me stupid, call me a daredevil, just don't call me late to dinner.

If it looks too good to be true, it probably is. That is the thinking I would apply to getting a $500 purse for $59.

Good warning for others.
Posted by tnchuck100 on 2012-05-01:
Just the fact that eBay and PayPal are connected would be enough for me to avoid PayPal. I have seen too many complaints about PayPal.

Like trmn8r I use my actual credit card but only after researching the company/site to convince myself they are trustworthy.
Posted by BigAl on 2012-05-01:
Many designer products are mass produced in China. Just saying.
Posted by samanthasmom on 2012-05-01:
In case anyone is interested, Coach does have an outlet website, it's www.coachfactory.com. Prices are as low as $29 for wallets, bags are $60-$200). You have to sign up first and wait for them to send you an invite. There is a sale starting tomorrow.
Posted by samanthasmom on 2012-05-01:
Sorry, forgot to add, the website I mentioned is the official Coach outlet. 100% authentic.
Posted by littleshorty on 2012-05-01:
Thanks samanthasmom. I just signed up. And I noticed the "https" in the browser so I know it's a secure site. I look forward to their invite.
Posted by Kris on 2012-08-23:
Ordered a coach bag - gave as a gift, how embarassing, zipper wouldn't work. contacted vendor - wanted to give me $2 - are you kidding me!!!
Posted by Bargain babe on 2012-08-27:
I don't trust these sites now! I'm gonna just make the drive to the actual outlet Stores now. Thx for the info!!
Posted by Becky on 2012-09-01:
Thank you so much. I also received mailing and was attempting to go on the site when I saw your post.
Posted by Sue on 2012-09-19:
I had this experience as well. I found the site online and there is only a space difference, the website is slick and when you have entered the credit card number you realize from their grammatical errors and message to wait on checking it was a scam. I mailed the terrible product back and it came back again. It was not even a good copy.
Posted by Crystal on 2013-01-10:
I've ordered items from coachfactory.com and they are legit. If you go to Coach's official website they are listed as a reputable online seller. My sister in law sent me an invite and I have ordered 5 bags from them for less than $600. They are quality bags and include an invoice from Coach that allows you to return them to a store or through the mail if you're not satisfied.
Posted by Annie on 2013-02-13:
Actually, www.coachfactory.com is a legitimate website...if you go to the Coach website, it says:

BUYING COACH ONLINE

•The only websites owned and operated by Coach to sell Coach products online are www.coach.com and www.coachfactory.com.

This appears under their "Counterfeit Education" tab on their official website. While the Factory bags are made to be sold at a lesser price due to slightly lesser quality than a full Coach store, they are still a legitimate site with legitimate products...
Posted by Andrea on 2013-03-24:
I called Coach (800/444-3611) and simply asked if www.coachfactory.com is for real. Answer? Yes! I've made many purchases from the site, given the. As gifts, and they handbag comes with a style number, authentic retail price tag, and a money back guarantee. They are, however, not the current styles, so if you're looking for the up-to-the-minute styles, don't look at the website. Very lovely, class handbags, though.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)

Your Experience/Advice:


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.
Coach, Inc.:
Overall Rating:StarStarStarEmpty star